Music, My Savior

Posted on Updated on

Luther Vandross, Kem and Anthony Hamilton playing in the background as I sit at my computer, trying to come up with a subject to write about.  Coming into my space this evening, on a low note, all of a sudden feeling real good.  Vibing and jamming to that old school R & B.  All of a sudden a new song comes on with some jazz music in the background.  I only catch the artist name, not the song’s name, Andre Ward.  Sounds so smooth.  I forgot what I wanted to gripe about.  I feel happier than I did, that I know.  I love iHeart radio.  I’m in Florida but I can listen to the incredible R&B stations in New Orleans and Chicago.  Uh oh, Groove Theory now, go head Amel Larrieux… “You are wondering if the words I’m saying are for real…. ”

I can always count on my music to get me to a good place.  Back in time or in a fantasy world, but more importantly, it grounds me.  It surrounds me with familiarity in a day where it feels so lonely.

One thought on “Music, My Savior

    lucyabreu said:
    August 11, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    Absolutely agree! Music has healing and rejuvenating power!

    Like

Leave a Reply

